

# RUNS AND FARMS

### **INTRODUCTION:**

The following information was researched and collated by Ken Thomlinson, a member of the Upper Clutha Historical Records Society (UCHRS), from various records including the Runs Register held at Archives New Zealand in Dunedin.

Provincial boundaries between Canterbury and Otago were interpreted differently by each Council for several years until this was finally resolved in 1899. For the Upper Clutha region this affected the Mt Albert, Makarora, Hunter Valley, Mt Jones and Dingleburn Stations.

To read about the history of runs in this area refer to the UCHRS website under Local History which gives a comprehensive book list, many of which are held in the Wanaka Library.

### GLOSSARY:

Station Originally referred to the homestead then later as a large farm or property. Run Another word for station but formerly meaning the land that went with a station. Run Numbers Were allocated to each licence and later when subdivided often given a letter to indicate a portion of the original number.

Depasturing Licence later became known as Pastoral Licence which were allocated to a set portion of land or run for a set period of time.

B & NZM & A refers to British and New Zealand Mortgage and Agency NZM & I refers to New Zealand Mortgage and Investment Association Ltd Dalgety & Co refers to a stock and station agency

#### STATION NAMES IN THE UPPER CLUTHA:

Morven Hills	Runs 235, 236, 237 & 238 bordered Kawarua Station, was later subdivided in 1910.
Lake Hawea	now borders in the north Dingleburn, in the east 236B Forest Range and 235A Breast Hill Stations in the south Mount Grand Station.
Dingleburn	renamed as such in 1954 after the raising of Lake Hawea with this the amalgamation of Timaru Creek, Mt Jones runs and the eastern side of Hunter Valley Station.
Ben Wyvis (Benweis)	Run 338A on mid western shores of Lake Hawea became amalgamated in 1954 into Hunter Valley Station.
Hunter Valley	at the head of Lake Hawea.
Makarora	in the Makarora Valley was split up in 1995 with a portion being renamed Makaroa River Ranch.
Mt Albert	in the west Makarora Valley at the head of Lake Wanaka.
Minaret	Runs 337 and 337A bordered by the Alphaburn River in the north, Lake Wanaka to the east, Minaret Burn to the south and unclaimed Crown land to the west stretching to the Tasman Sea.
Glendhu	Runs 334C and 334D.
Alphaburn	originally part of Glendhu, includes Roys Peak.
West Wanaka	Run 333 was subdivided in 1901.
Cattle Flat	originally part of West Wanaka till 1901.

Matukituki	established in 1983 when subdivided off Cattle Flat, lies to the northern end of the Matukituki Valley bordering Mt Aspiring Station at Niger Creek.
Mt Aspiring Station	named as such in 1920.
Glencoe	part of Ayreburn Station goes from the Arrow River into the Cardrona.
Motatapu	was the back block of Glencoe Station until 1947. Most of the Motatapu Valley was for some years, part of the very large Wanaka Station.
Mt Burke	formerly known as Forks Run is situated between the two lakes, Hawea on the east and Wanaka on the west, it includes the Peninsula, the four peaks - Isthmus, Mt Burke, Mt Gold and Mt Maude.
Glen Dene	originally part of Mt Burke was established in 1979 borders Lake Hawea on the east, Lake Wanaka on the west, the Neck in the north and Mt Maude and the Hawea Motor Camp in the south.
Lake McKay	<ul> <li>currently an amalgamation of McKay on the Pisa Range and Midrun properties in 1990.</li> </ul>

known as: Breast Hill 235A Dalrachny 235B Morven Hills 235C old homestead block Grandview Creek Run - 236A Nine Mile - 2361 The Downs block - 236K and L Timaru Run - 236 now known as Hawea Station Kotiki - 236N and O previously known as Ram Terraces Pukemara - 236P Bowmans Flat - 236R later known as lles Maori Point - 236T Little Cluden - 236M Cluden -237F Timburn -237G originally known as MacPhee's Ridge was split in two Longacre - 237G Geordie Hill - 237H Merivale -237H Shirlmar -237H

Morven Hills Station the original 235, 236, 237 and 236 runs was subdivided in 1910 - now

Bendigo - 238 Wainui - 238O Cloudy Peak - 238P Malvern Downs Maryland Ardgour - 238K Devils Creek - 238M Northburn - 238E

## RUN MAPS, LICENCE HOLDERS AND PROPERTY OWNERS:

Morven Hills subdivision map – enquiries to UCHRS

Download two pdf files to view - see MAPS:

- Run Maps June 1867 Makarora area, 1875 Upper Clutha, about 1900 Upper Clutha
- Depasturing Licences 19 April 1859- 27 June 1861
- Pastoral Licences, Runholders 1858 about 1920
- Makarora run map 1890 in the Canterbury Province